So… Do Australians Ever Wear Shoes?

Hi everyone! My name is Alyssa Florack, and I’m an Eagle abroad from Green Bay, Wisconsin. To answer your first questions, yes, I like cheese, and yes, I love the Packers. When I told people I was going abroad in Australia, they told me all sorts of things – the need to pack as lightly as possible, the can’t-miss experience of going snorkeling at the Great Barrier Reef, and (most importantly) my inevitable death by shark or spider attack. No one, however, mentioned that Australians don’t wear shoes. In Brisbane, the motto seems to be “No shoes, no problem.” From laying outside instead of attending lectures to riding skateboards through the streets, this laidback lifestyle follows my new friends everywhere. It’s been a bit odd adjusting to life at such a relaxed pace, especially when we come from a place like BC, where the motto is “Work hard, play hard.” Here, my life is the strangest combination of vacation and school, and the fact that it’s summer break back home just adds to that feeling. Still, we’re finally starting to get into the swing of things. I feel like I just got here, but it’s been six weeks of classes with great new friends and amazing field trips to the beach for my marine biology class. The other exchange students and I have begun planning all the cool trips we hope to take this semester, and I can’t wait for what’s to come!! Now that I’m settled in, I’m off to New Zealand to visit some friends from BC next week. It’s strange to know that those friends are the only ones from Boston I’ll get to visit this semester, but I’m glad that I’ve gotten to know some real Aussies while I’ve been abroad… whether they wear shoes or not. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

